Gerald Tushabe
  • Male
  • Kampala
  • Uganda
  • Lecturer, Makerere University
Share on Facebook
Share Twitter
  • Blog Posts
  • Discussions (1)
  • Events
  • Groups
  • Photos
  • Photo Albums
  • Videos

Gerald Tushabe's Friends

  • Eve Williams
  • MIKE WILLIAMS
 

Gerald Tushabe's Page

Latest Activity

Gerald Tushabe replied to Craig Zelizer's discussion Researcher Develops Tool for Reporting and Studying Human Rights Abuses Worldwide
"Great work, Prof. Davenport. I teach human rights at Makerere University in Kampala, Uganda. The tool you have developed will be valuable in our course on "Human Rights Monitoring and Reporting". Congratulations and keep up the good…"
Feb 17, 2011
Gerald Tushabe updated their profile
Oct 12, 2010
Gerald Tushabe updated their profile photo
Oct 12, 2010
Gerald Tushabe left a comment for Eve Williams
"Hey Eve, Please note some typos in my previous mail: the online application system WAS actually shut down. As i suggested earlier, please try my yahoo ID at tushge@yahoo.co.uk. Best, Gerald."
May 18, 2010
Gerald Tushabe left a comment for Eve Williams
"Hey Eve, Update: General-Admission lists for postgraduate students will be available latest first week of June,2010. Normally this used to be in May each year, but there were some changes this year.Specific-The officer in charge gave me an…"
May 18, 2010
Gerald Tushabe left a comment for Eve Williams
"Hey Eve! Great to know u r getting more contacts. Am certain u r in good hands and u will get all the information you need. I shall check with the School of Post Graduate studies this week and will get back to you. Also,you may try my yahoo ID at…"
May 18, 2010
Eve Williams left a comment for Gerald Tushabe
"Greetings Gerald, I hope all is well with you. I was wandering if you were able to get any information on my application. I was able to connect with another lecturer at Makerere and I hope that between the two of you I might get good news soon.…"
May 18, 2010
Eve Williams left a comment for Gerald Tushabe
"Thanks again Gerald! I look forward to hearing your response and (hopefully) coming to Uganda in August. Sincerely, Eve"
May 14, 2010
Gerald Tushabe left a comment for Eve Williams
"Dear Eve, Greetings again! Alright, i now have the details to make the inquiries. I will get back to you at the earliest opportunity. Regards. Gerald."
May 14, 2010
Eve Williams left a comment for Gerald Tushabe
"Dear Gerald, Thanks you so much for responding so quickly! It has been hard for me to get any information as I am in New York, so I would truly appreciate it. My full name is Eve Williams (Wilson). I was awarded a Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarship…"
May 13, 2010
Gerald Tushabe left a comment for Eve Williams
"Dear Eve, Greetings. Thank you for getting in touch. I teach on the human rights program but the peace program you applied to is also based in the Department of Philosophy,Faculty of Arts. Perhaps you need to give me some details of your application…"
May 13, 2010
Gerald Tushabe and Eve Williams are now friends
May 13, 2010
Gerald Tushabe and MIKE WILLIAMS are now friends
Nov 7, 2009
Gerald Tushabe left a comment for Dorothy Tukahabwa
"hi dorothy. i joined this network today. i tried to flip through the members' list and initially thought you're ugandan! all the same, i think we have many interests in common. let's keep in touch. regards. gerald tushabe."
Oct 23, 2009
Gerald Tushabe is now a member of Peace and Collaborative Development Network
Oct 23, 2009

Profile Information

Please feel free to provide a short bio about yourself or the work of your organization (no more than 3 paragraphs)
Iam a lecturer in the Faculty of Arts at Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda. I hold BA(Hons) in Political Science and MA (Human Rights) both from Makerere. I am also fairly fluent in French, with two certificates (C.E.F.P 1, C.E.F.P 2) from the Alliance Francaise in Paris, France.
For the last two and a half years, till September 2009, I have been doing a project on economic, social and cultural rights (ESCR) for Human Rights Network (HURINET),a national non-governmental organization in Uganda. I am interested in issues of development, trade justice, human rights, rule of law, good governace, climate change, third world debt,food crisis ,etc. I have travelled widely in East Africa for conerences and other advocacy initiatives on some of these issues. In 2008 I presented a paper at an FAO food summit in Rome on the role of Ugandan civil society in formulating legislation (Food & Nutrition Bill) in the country. I have also participated in other meetings in Geneva on the global food crisis and WTO-trade justice related issues.
Please list the countries and/or regions in which you (or your organization) have direct and significant expertise
Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, DR Congo.
What is your current country of residence (or location of your organization)?
Uganda
What is your current job (and organization) and/or where and what field are you studying?
Lecturer, Makerere University
How many years professional experience do you have ?
6-10
What is your personal or organizational website?
http://www.mak.ac.ug
Which are your primary sectoral areas of expertise (or the primary sectoral areas of your organization) ?
Civil Society, Conflict Resolution, Democratization, Environment, Facilitation, Gender, Health, Human Rights, Rule of Law
Which are your primary skills areas(or the primary skill areas of your organization)?
Advocacy, Capacity Building, Monitoring, Program Administration, Program Implemenation, Research, Qualitative Skills, Training
What are some of your current areas of research (if any)?
International and regional human rights monitoring mechanisms (state reporting/universal periodic review) and their efficacy in Africa
If appropriate feel free to list several of your (or your organization's) publications
"The Right to Foo and the Military in Uganda" (with Dr. A.B. Rukooko, Journal of Ethics &Human Rights, Vol. 1.No. 1, 2006, Makerere University, Kampala.

Comment Wall (3 comments)

You need to be a member of Peace and Collaborative Development Network to add comments!

Join Peace and Collaborative Development Network

At 12:47pm on May 18, 2010, Eve Williams said…
Greetings Gerald,
I hope all is well with you. I was wandering if you were able to get any information on my application. I was able to connect with another lecturer at Makerere and I hope that between the two of you I might get good news soon. Thans again for all of your help.
sincerely,
Eve
At 5:35pm on May 14, 2010, Eve Williams said…
Thanks again Gerald! I look forward to hearing your response and (hopefully) coming to Uganda in August.

Sincerely,
Eve
At 10:57pm on May 13, 2010, Eve Williams said…
Dear Gerald,

Thanks you so much for responding so quickly! It has been hard for me to get any information as I am in New York, so I would truly appreciate it. My full name is Eve Williams (Wilson). I was awarded a Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarship to study at Makerere. I applied to the Peace and Conflict Studies program but I was also very much interested in the Human Rights Program. However, I did not think I could apply to both.

I did receive confirmation that my application was received but at this time have no word to its status. According to my scholarship, I need to get my vaccinations, visa, and airplane ticket now, but am unable to do any of this since I do not have an Admission letter from the program.

Some other information you might need:
My birthdate is the 12th of December, 1985
I graduated from Antioch University in Ohio, USA in December 2006
I have a Bachelors Degree with 2 years as a Deans Scholar (you can only become a Dean's scholar after your 1st year and I finished the 4-yr program in 3 years), a Coretta Scott King Scholar, and several other awards.


Please let me know what you hear. I have been trying to travel to Africa, Uganda in particular, for several years but my work and studies have only taken me to Latin America and the Caribbean. Thank you for your help and support.

Sincerely,
Eve
 
 
 

Sponsored Link

Please Pay What You Can to Support PCDN

Please consider Paying What You Can to help PCDN grow. We encourage you to consider any amount from $1 and up. Read the SUPPORT page prior to making a payment to see PCDN's impact and how your payment will help.

Sponsored Link

Translate This Page



PCDN NETWORK TWITTER FEED

PCDN Guidelines and Share Pages

By using this site you're agreeing to the terms of use as outlined in the community guidelines (in particular PCDN is an open network indexed by Google and users should review the privacy options). Please note individual requests for funding or jobs are NOT permitted on the network.

Click BELOW to share site resources Bookmark and Share
or Share on LINKEDIN


FOLLOW PCDN on TWITTER, FACEBOOK or GOOGLE+

Google+

 

© 2014   Created by Craig Zelizer.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service