Call for nominations: Gwangju Prize for Human Rights, May 18 Memorial Foundation

Cross-posted from May 18 Memorial Foundation:

Calling for Nomination of the Gwangju Prize for Human Right...
Attach :

The Gwangju Prize for Human Rights 2013

Every year since 2000, the May 18 Memorial Foundation (Gwangju, Republic of Korea) has announced its annual “Call for nominations for the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights”. This Prize promotes the spirit of the May 18 Democratization Movement in which the people of Gwangju resisted against brutal military forces for the sake of Democracy and Human Rights in 1980. Historically the May 18 Democratization Movement brought democracy to Korea.

The May 18 Memorial Foundation was founded in 1994 with the aim of spreading and commemorating the democratic spirit shown by the people of Gwangju. In the course of restoring the meaning of the May 18 Democratization Movement through fact finding, and bringing the perpetrators to justice, even though Gwangju was isolated by the military junta many overseas countries supported the City and wanted to see the restoration of justice and human rights. Therefore, through this prize the May 18 Memorial Foundation would like to share and empathize with people in similar situations to that which the people of Gwangju faced in 1980.

The prize goes to one individual or an organization that has struggled for or contributed to the improvement and advancement of human rights, democracy and peace in their community and country.

Nominations will be collected from 19 December to 24 February. Preliminary and final reviews of nominees will take place through February to March. The winner of the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights will be announced on the first week of April. The official prize ceremony will be held at the May 18 Memorial Culture Center, Gwangju, on May 18, 2013.

The Gwangju Prize for Human Rights Special Award
In 2011, the May 18 Memorial Foundation newly established the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights Special Award. Since the time that the Foundation began awarding the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights, we have received many requests to establish a special prize for those who work for the improvement of human rights by the means of journalism, culture, literature, and many other fields. The special prize is provided every 2 years. The prize winner will also receive some prize money (10,000 USD) and a certificate at the same Awards ceremony. Nominators can use the same nomination form as that of the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights.

Eligibility for the Prize
1) A person or group eligible for the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights nominated by another individual or organization. An individual cannot nominate him/herself and cannot be nominated by his/her own organization.
2) A person or group who has been struggling for justice and democracy for their community and country.
3) A person or group who has contributed towards democracy and human rights movements through their work in their organization.

Policy of the Prize Committee

1) Co-winners may only be selected by the Prize Committee, not by nominators; a nominator can only submit 1 nominee.
2) Nominators cannot interfere with or participate in the Prize Committee’s selection process.
3) The Prize Committee may only disclose the amount of nominees, not the names of them.

Nomination Deadline
From 19 December 2012 until 24 February 2013.

The Prize
The prize winner will receive the prize money, 50,000 USD (10,000 USD for the winner of the special prize for the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights), medal and certificate.

The Prize will be awarded at the Prize Ceremony to be held at the May 18 Memorial Culture Center, on May 18, 2013 and the winner should attend the Ceremony.  
The prize winner is expected to attend press conferences and a Special Celebration Concert on May 19, 2013.

Contact Information
Solidarity Team
The May 18 Memorial Foundation
Postcode 520-260 Naebangro 152 5.18 Memorial Culture Center Seo-gu Gwangju, Republic of Korea
Phone: +82 62 360 0520
Fax: +82 62 360 0519
Email: gwangjuprize(at)
Please visit our website for the latest announcements at

Laureates of the Gwangju Prize for Human Rights
2000 Kay Rala Xanana Gusmão (National Council of Timorese Resistance, East Timor)
2001 W.P.J. Basil Fernando (Asian Human Rights Commission, Sri Lanka)
2002 Korea Association of Bereaved Families for Democracy (KABFD)
2003 Dandeniya Jayanthi (Monument for the Disappeared, Sri Lanka)
2004 Aung San Suu Kyi (National League for Democracy, Burma)
2005 Wardah Hafiz (Urban Poor Consortium, Indonesia)
2006 Malalai Joya (Co-laureate, National Assembly, Afghanistan)
Angkhana Neelapaijit (Co-laureate, Human Rights Activist, Thailand)
2007 Lenin Raghuvanshi (Co-laureate, People’s Vigilance Committee on Human Rights, India)
Irom Sharmila Chanu (Co-laureate, Human Rights Activist, Manipur, India)
2008 Munir Malik (Human Rights Lawyer, Pakistan)
2009 Min Ko Naing (Democracy Movement Activist, Burma)
2010 Sushil Pyakurel (Accountability Watch Committee, Nepal)
2011 Binayak Sen (Human Rights Activist, India)
2012 Mun Jeong Hyun (Catholic Priest, Republic of Korea)

Tags: Gwangju, culture, democracy, human rights, journalism, literature, prize

Views: 460

Reply to This

Sponsored Link

Please Pay What You Can to Support PCDN

Please consider Paying What You Can to help PCDN grow. We encourage you to consider any amount from $1 and up. Read the SUPPORT page prior to making a payment to see PCDN's impact and how your payment will help.

Sponsored Link

Translate This Page


PCDN Guidelines and Share Pages

By using this site you're agreeing to the terms of use as outlined in the community guidelines (in particular PCDN is an open network indexed by Google and users should review the privacy options). Please note individual requests for funding or jobs are NOT permitted on the network.

Click BELOW to share site resources Bookmark and Share
or Share on LINKEDIN




© 2016   Created by Craig Zelizer.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service